JCuda with existing java program and arraylists

Hello,

I am a beginner in using CUDA and therefore JCuda and I am trying to accelerate a program that wasn’t written by myself using JCuda. I have read through the tutorial and other postings in the forum at examples and explanations and I am now trying to attempt to tackle this task. Problem is the function that would like to parallelize and essentially become the kernel, from my current understandings, has ArrayLists as parameters and their types are objects. Is this posible to do still?

Thanks!

Hello

Indeed, the tutorial only covers the basic setup, and not (yet) any “best practices”. Although most of the general strategies are equal for CUDA and JCuda, and thus, the official CUDA Programming Guide / Best Practices Guide are the most reliable source of information, I occasionally wrote a few words in some forum threads that could be assembled into a quick introduction.

In general, it may be quite challenging to map an arbitrary program to CUDA. Especially when the program originally was written in Java, because the high-level, object-oriented style of Java may differ significantly from the style implied by the low-level nature of data-parallel CUDA programs. Until now, I can only say that when you have an ArrayList of objects, you have to convert the objects into a representation that is adequate for CUDA. In most cases, this will basically be a set of arrays that contain the relevant information, and that may be sent to CUDA in form of pointers to device memory. Of course, care has to be taken that the conversion and memory copies to not eat up all potential performance gains.

The information provided so far is not really sufficient for a more detailled, focussed advice. So the first question is, whether the problem can really be transformed into a data-parallel problem…?

bye
Marco

Hello and thank you for the response!!