Explanation worksize

Hello

In one of the sample files JOCLSimpleConvolution.java starting from line 559 there are some different sorts of worksizes being mentioned. GlobalWorksize, LocalWorkSize and also a round function that is being used for one of them.
I’m really confused on what this part of the code does to the program. I’m VERY new to this subject and i’m trying to do this for a schoolproject, but that part of the code is bugging me ever since i started.

Could someone explain me this part of the code so i can get a good understanding of how this works?

Thx in advance!

Hello

Maybe the short answer first: In this example, the local work size and rounding of the global work size are not really necessary. You can set the localWorkSize to ‘null’, and as the global work size, simply use the image size:

clEnqueueNDRangeKernel(commandQueue, clKernel, 2, null, 
            new long[]{imageSizeX, imageSizeY}, null, 0, null, null);

The reason why the local work size is explicitly set to be the ‘convolution kernel’ size is that I experimented a little with local memory when I created this sample. I was playing around with different possible implementations of the Convolution OpenCL Kernel. The one that found its way onto the website is the most simple one (that’s why it does not really need a specification of the local work size). Other, more sophisticated kernels, may need it.

I’m also not an expert at OpenCL/GPU programming, and some aspects are hard to grasp. Admittedly, the real details concerning warp sizes, half-warps and all that, what is explained in the NVIDIA Whitepapers (mainly those referring to CUDA) are bugging me as well - I think that, to some extent, this should be “hidden” by OpenCL. Otherwise you always risk programming/optimizing your kernel for a specific GPU architecture.

However, I’ll try a simple explaination of what is done in the current convolution example: