How to pass an array of multidimensional rows and two columns

I am a PhD student. I compare two ontologies O1 and O2 using GPU capability.I need to pass a collection of strings and integers in one array, for example,
O1 have two elements, TechnicalStaff, firstName.
O2 have two elements. AssociateProf, SurName.
I have to identify an id related to each ontology elements in order to know correspondences to be compared. I need to pass from host to device an array as follows. First, I have to divide the whole names into tokens and then pass

arr1 = { (Technical,1).(Staff,1),(first,2),(Name,2)}
arr2 = { (Associate,1).(Prof,1),(Sur,2),(Name,2)}

You did not provide many (technical) details. So the following answer may be a bit vague. The „best“ solution will depend on many factors that you’ll probably have to figure out by reading lots of related work, and by some experiments.

In general, if you want to move Strings from Java to the GPU, this will raise some questions. A String in Java is (basically) a char[] array. But a char in Java is different from a char in C/CUDA. In Java, a char has 16 bits, whereas in C, a char has 8 bits. So if you have to move strings from Java to CUDA, you’d have to convert it into a byte[] array, with String#getBytes.

But there is another difficulty: The strings will most likely have different lengths. So it would be really hard to find a sensible data structure in order to pass this data to CUDA.

Another, very general hint is that for GPU programming, you should usually prefer a „Structure Of Arrays“ instead of an „Array Of Structures“. When you have something like

class Point2D {
    float x;
    float y;
}
List<Point2D> points = ...;

and want to pass these points to the GPU, then you could try to pass it to the GPU as a float[n][2] array (i.e. an array of 2-element arrays). But for the GPU, it is usually much better (and actually easier) to instead pass it as two arrays, like

float xCoordinates[] = extractAllXCoordinates(points);