How to re-use global memory between kernel invocations

Hi,

My usecase is neural net related, I’m new to OpenCL and JOCL so apologies if this is a very basic question.

I have a large sample data set that is copied from the host to the GPU global memory, the sample data does not change over kernel invocations. Then for each training cycle I need to invoke the kernel with a pointer to both the sample data and also a pointer to an array of weights specific to that training cycle also in global memory. After each cycle the host copies back the results, updates the weights and then needs to re-invoke the kernel with the new weights. My question is how do I write the new weights to the global memory allocation which was originally allocated with clCreateBuffer() ?

Thanks, Joe

Hi

From what you described so far, I don’t see why this should not be possible simply with clEnqueueWriteBuffer. At least, the flow until now sounds roughly like this:

// Initially, create the weights memory object
float weights[] = new float[n];
cl_mem weightsMem = clCreateBuffer(context, CL_MEM_READ_ONLY, 
    weights.length * Sizeof.cl_float, null, null);

// The cycles...
for (int i=0; i<numCycles; i++)
{
    // Use the weights memory object in the kernel:
    clSetKernelArg(kernel, 0, Sizeof.cl_mem, Pointer.to(weightsMem));
    clEnqueueNDRangeKernel(commandQueue, kernel, 1, null, 
        null, null, 0, null, null);

// Modify the weights in host memory
    weights[0] += 123.456;

// Copy the updated weights data from the host to the memory object:
    clEnqueueWriteBuffer(commandQueue, weightsMem, 
        true, 0, weights.length * Sizeof.cl_float, 
        Pointer.to(weights), 0, null, null);

}

Did I miss something here?

Thanks Marco, yes this is it. I was confused by an example I had used that only passed the host pointer in the clCreateBuffer() call.