JCuda Invert Image Functions Call multi times

Hi I’m new to JCuda but good with Java and moderate level of Knowledge to cuda. I’m following this example to invert image, https://github.com/jcuda/jcuda-imagej-example. modified it little, instead of showing on screen I’m saving the inverted images on disk.

My system has 8 processors so if i write this program in Java, I will use to 8 threads to convert 8 image at a time. Please assume to total number of images is 1000.

The process which take most of the time is the pixel inverting loop. which i want to make it parallel.
e.g

for (int x = 0; x < width; x++) {
for (int y = 0; y < height; y++) {
//TODO inverting method
}
}

Now I want to understand, can i send data using 8 threads to GPU?

so instead of above code of for loop i want to execute my parallel code, which involve, loading of ptx or cu file. allocate memory, call the kernal method and get the output.

1. Do i have to load the ptx/cu every time?
  2. If no so i have to allocate the memory for the pixel and call the function?

Thank you
–Aqeel Haider

Hello,

First a general remark: Depending on the overall workflow, it might be hard to achieve a good speedup there. It’s not entirely clear what the „inverting method“ actually does. If it is really just a pixel-wise inversion like the one in jcuda-imagej-example/src/main/resources/JCudaImageJExampleKernel.cu at master · jcuda/jcuda-imagej-example · GitHub , then there is not so much computation involved. Copying the memory from the host to the device might then be more expensive than the actual computation. (The sample should basically only show how to write an ImageJ plugin in general, and the Kernel was only a basic example).

But you can give it a try - particularly, if the inversion involves a more complex computation, or you later want to move other processing steps to the GPU as well.