Questions to Layout (Menu) and Saving the Layout

I’m new to DF (as mentioned before) and am surprised how fast you can adopt a running application to DF. To keep it short, I’m working on an Management Cockpit for financials.

I started to do a test-application (common based!!) for trying out the possibilities of DF, all from scratch. And I fell over some points, I got stuck. I read all the docs, looked at all the source and looked through the stuff here to get a hint. (Sorry, I’m a NewBe to DF AND to Java).

1. In the (common-) Doc of DF 1.07 (Paragraph 7.8 Menus) there is a menu example shown (Figure 6). How was that set up with the MenuPiece-Framework. I get the Menues running as separate RootMenuPiece but can’t fugure out, how to set the CThemeMenuPiece, CLookAndFeelMenuPiece and CLayoutChoiceMenuPiece into separate submenues of one RootMenuPiece.

2. What must I take care of to setup the whole DF-Content properly, so that e.g. externalizing a CDockable maximizes over the full screen, maximizing of CDockables from normalized stay in ContentArea and so on. Mine sometimes flip around?? So I’m doing something wrong!

3. Is there a way to have a CenterArea (prefereble CGridArea) and one CMinimizeArea in the south?

So many basic questions. Sorry for extra work.

1. Use a SubmenuPiece, like in the example at the end of this post.

2. Currently “maximizing” always means first to “normalize” a Dockable, then search the next CGridArea which has the “maximize-area”-property set to true. I’d like to change that for 1.0.8p5 and allow “real” full-screen, but from the clients side its currently almost impossible to change the behavior. (I was planing to make real full-screen possible in the current version, but was distracted).

Or did I misunderstand your question?