Rewriting a Java program to JCuda

Hi, I am completely new to JCuda.
For a Java program that does computation (e.g., data analysis). I wonder how hard it is to rewrite/convert it to the JCuda framework.
Anyone has similar experience?
Thanks!

Hello

Although I don’t really have „experience“ with rewriting a whole application to JCuda: It’s hard to say how hard it is :wink:

It depends on several factors. JCuda is intended to mimic CUDA. And in general, there are stilistic differences between „well-designed, object oriented Java“ and CUDA. So in any case, before you set out to re-write even parts of your application, you should have made clear

• which part you want to accelerate through data-parallel GPU computing
  • how you intend to achieve a speedup there and
  • how large the speedup might be
  • how the GPU computing part may be integrated into the remaining application

In any case, I’d recommend to really try to draw a clear and strict separation line between the GPU-related part and the remaining part. (This applies to all pieces of software, but there are several reasons to emphasize this for JCuda/CUDA).

Can you elaborate which kinds of data analysis you intend to run on the GPU?

bye

Thanks for the answer.

I plan to implement a series of statistical functions that might involve dealing with large amounts of high-dimensional data. For example, when implementing Bayes’ theorem, the program needs to do some ‘counting’ across all the dimensions of the data and across all the data points. And the goal is to make such computation real time, similar to how an Excel cell responds to a function typed in it.

OK, I’ve never been so familar with statistics and probabilities (it scares me - too many paradoxes are based on that! :eek: :wink: ).

I wonder which parts of the application have been identified as bottlenecks and should be accelerated with data-parallel GPU processing, and what the intended „interface“ for these functions looks like.